My First Breath as a Dead Man


Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows – Pope Paul VI

I have had dreams, I have had nightmares
Some I remember but none as clear as this
This strangely is not a nightmare at all to me
This is my first breathe as a deadman

I rise up and take my first gasp
Oh my God, what is my body doing down there?
Its clear as light that am no longer alive
But also clear is that am not dead

How I died is still a blurr
But from where I rose, I know it was not far
I wonder if am already missed
mmhh!!! ofcourse what is there not to miss

I did not believe any of this when I was still alive
But then again why am I the only one here?
Is this the place where they keep those of little faith?
And out of billions there was only one?

The darkness is so thick I could hear it speak
But alas a dense light captures my sight
I hear voices, oh I am not alone
but then they fade away, what is going on?

I see angels all around me
But the light is turning out to be blinding
Movies convinced me that I would find them singing
strangely they were just there…….. talking

Suddenly it was all clear to me
I was never dead just in surgery
So i guess, till this day I await
My first breathe as a dead man

YoungJoey (c)2010

THE DAY’S

Quote: Why is it that you always here about a B.P oil spill but never a budweiser beer spill? – Anonymous.

Definition: Divorce (n) -From the Latin word meaning to rip out the man’s genitals through his wallet.

Hero/Zero: I have decided to do away with this part from now henceforth.

3 thoughts on “My First Breath as a Dead Man

  1. We never await for our first inhalation when we awake, for the sole reason that it is normal, a routine that has so far eluded our conscious that it only resides in our subconscious. I guess it is good to change perspectives and look at it from the underworld-or from heaven for that matter. The only question is, will I enjoy my first breath or will the hot air burn the hair in my nostrils….

  2. Pingback: My Best Knot not Note « The greatrnk

Leave a Reply

